James Haecker Award for Distinguished Leadership in Architectural Research

Named in honor of ARCC’s founding Executive Secretary, this award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the growth of the research culture of architecture and related fields, including urban and regional planning, landscape architecture, and interior design. Nominees, therefore, should have demonstrated, whether in professional practice, academics, or service, a record of sustained and significant research leadership accomplishment at the national or international level. Nominations must come from an ARCC member institution and should be addressed to Professor Ihab Elzeyadi, ARCC Awards Committee Chair.

Former Recipients:

Henry Sanoff, North Carolina State University
Vivian Loftness, Carnegie Mellon University 
Dana Cuff, University of California, Los Angeles
Linda Groat, University of Michigan
Frederick Steiner, University of Pennsylvania
Charles M. (Chuck) Eastman, Georgia Institute of Technology
Edward Steinfeld, University of Buffalo
Sherry Ahrentzen, University of Florida
Lisa Heschong, Heschong Mahone Group, Inc.
Ralph Knowles, University of Southern California
John M. McRae, University of Tennessee
Marvin Malecha, North Carolina State University
Harvey Bryan, Arizona State University
John Reynolds, University of Oregon
Don Watson, Consultant and Educator
Robert Shibley, University at Buffalo
Malcolm Quantrill, Texas A&M University
G.Z. Charlie Brown, University of Oregon
Robert Koester, Ball State University
John Eberhard, The American Architectural Foundation
David Haviland, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute