Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara recipients of the 2020 Pritzker Prize


Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Dublin, Ireland, have been selected as the recipients of the 2020 Pritzker Prize, the 47th and 48th Laureates and the first from Ireland.

Farrell and McNamara established Grafton Architects in 1978 in Dublin, where they continue to practice and reside. In just over forty years, they have completed nearly as many projects, located in Ireland, the United Kingdom, France, Italy and Peru. According to the 2020 Prize Jury, “Their buildings consistently remain purposefully rich, yet modest, enhancing cities and lending to sustainability while responding to local needs.”

McNamara states, “Architecture is a framework for human life. It anchors us and connects us to the world in a way which possibly no other space-making discipline can.” Farrell continues, “At the core of our practice is a real belief that architecture matters. It is a cultural spatial phenomenon that people invent.”

Yvonne Farrell recently delivered a Keynote Lecture as part of the Ireland Architecture Research Group (AIARG) Conference, titled Earth as Client, in Limerick, Ireland, 23-24 January 2020.

For more info, click here.