Category Archives: Awards

James Haecker Award for Distinguished Leadership in Architectural Research

Nominations Due: October 1 Named in honor of ARCC’s founding Executive Secretary, this award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the growth of the research culture of architecture and related fields, including urban and regional planning, landscape architecture, and interior design. Nominees, therefore, should have demonstrated, whether in professional practice, academics, or … Continue reading James Haecker Award for Distinguished Leadership in Architectural Research

Annual Research Conference ‘Best Paper Award’

Awarded to the author or authors judged to have prepared and presented the best paper for the ARCC Annual Research Conference. Selection is made by the ARCC Executive Board based upon a review of the written paper and a critique of the paper presentation. 2014 Recipient (Hawaii) Ozayr Saloojee & Vincent DeBrito, University of Minnesota … Continue reading Annual Research Conference ‘Best Paper Award’

New Researcher Award

Nominations Due: October 1 The Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC) New Researcher Award celebrates the activities, accomplishments and promise of scholars in the early stages of their research careers. ARCC is fundamentally concerned with promoting excellence in research, scholarship, and creative endeavor in architecture and related disciplines. The ARCC New Researcher Award is intended to … Continue reading New Researcher Award

Awards Overview

All award applications are due October 1, except for the King Medal and Best Paper/Presentation Award: specific deadlines are noted with each award description. Applications for the King Medal program should be sent to Dr. Brian Sinclair. All other applications should be sent to Awards Committee Chair Erin Moore. ARCC Dissertation Award The ARCC Dissertation … Continue reading Awards Overview

King Medal 2011-12 Recipients

ARCC Member Institution Student Name: Project Title: American University of Sharjah CHAM K. ENBASHI Re.Form.atting the Hinterland: Time Machine Prison Arizona State University* KURTIS J. D’ANGELO Ground Modification Techniques to Improve Thermal Performance of Buried Ground Heat Exchangers in Ground Coupled Heat Pump Systems Auburn University QIAN DENG Open Systems Design in Landscape Architecture Ball … Continue reading King Medal 2011-12 Recipients

2011 Incentive Fund Award – Major Award

Virginia Tech School of Architecture + Design was awarded the major Incentive Fund Award of $2400 to support dissemination and dialogue of a research project focusing on school mechanical system types in context of student achievement. Associate professor Michael Ermann and PhD Candidate Ana Jaramillo will publish the results in several journals but, more critically, present the … Continue reading 2011 Incentive Fund Award – Major Award

2011 Incentive Fund Award – Minor Award

Lawrence Tech’s makeLab was awarded the $1200 minor Incentive Fund award to disseminate the knowledge of digital fabrication processes to the architecture community. The focus of this push to transfer knowledge closes a critical gap between theoretical aspects of digital fabrications and vocational techniques. Premise The collegiate level suffers from the absence of how-to publications. If … Continue reading 2011 Incentive Fund Award – Minor Award

2011 Haecker Award Winner

Lisa Heschong is a Managing Principal of the Heschong Mahone Group, Inc. and an internationally recognized expert on daylighting, lighting energy use, and human factors in building design. As a researcher, Ms. Heschong led the groundbreaking research that found a correlation between the presence of daylight in classrooms and improved student performance, and completed three … Continue reading 2011 Haecker Award Winner

2011 New Researcher Award Winners

The work of Dr. Rima Al Ajlouni, Assistant Professor at Texas Tech University, is exemplary in linking historical research to parametric design. Dr. Al Ajlouni is a leader in the study of quasi-crystalline formations which possess unique visual and structural properties. This work has led to the development of the first structural equation which has potential … Continue reading 2011 New Researcher Award Winners

2011 Best Paper Award

The best paper for the 2011 ARCC Architectural Research Conference was awarded to Michael D. Gibson of Kansas State University for his paper “Integrating geometry and light: daylight solutions through performance-based algorithms“. The full paper is available here. ABSTRACT: Designing spaces for daylight is a complex problem for architects, balancing geometry with the location of daylight sources. … Continue reading 2011 Best Paper Award